CARICOM Leading the World in Ratifying Paris Agreement


Photo Credit: Emilio J. Rodríguez-Posada Photo Credit: Emilio J. Rodríguez-Posada

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines has become the seventh CARICOM Member State to ratify the Paris Agreement on climate change. They join Barbados, Belize, Grenada, Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis, and Saint Lucia in ratifying the Agreement.

The Agreement was opened for signature on 22 April 2016 at a high-level ceremony convened by the Secretary General of the United Nations in New York. At that ceremony, 174 States and the European Union signed the agreement. 15 States also deposited their instruments of ratification at that time.

178 countries have now signed the Agreement and 19 of them have also deposited their instruments of ratification. The Agreement will come into effect when 55 countries representing 55% of global emissions ratify the Agreement. The 19 countries that have ratified the Agreement to date represent only 0.18% of global emissions.

The only developed country to have ratified the…

View original post 52 more words